Last Chance to buy!

Bibliophile's books are remainders which means they will never be published again and can become rare.

Here are our bin ends under 10 copies which do not appear in our catalogues. Bag your copy now! First come, first served.

Clearance_Sale.gifHurry_Logo.gif


5 6 7 8 9 - 10 - 11 12 13 14
Number: 844
Page 10 of 29
VOICES FROM THE BLUE: The Real Lives of Policewomen
Book number: 91821 Product format: Paperback Author: JENNIFER REES & R. STRANGE
Published price: £10.99
Bibliophile price: £5.00
=
Libby Purves in the TLS said, 'God, I love these women! Their breeziness, compassion, humour and resilience are a tonic.' In February 1919, London's first women police officers took to the streets...
WIFE'S WAR
Book number: 91822 Product format: Paperback Author: ROSIE MEDDON
Published price: £8.99
Bibliophile price: £2.00
=
Set in north Devon during World War One, the Woodicombe House Sagas are perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin. Kate Channer thought married life was going to be a grand adventure, but when Luke must g...
LAST TRAIN FROM LIGURIA
Book number: 90870 Product format: Paperback Author: CHRISTINE DWYER HICKEY
Published price: £7.99
Bibliophile price: £3.50
=
In 1933 Bella Stuart leaves her quiet London life to move to Italy to tutor the child of a beautiful Jewish heiress and an elderly Italian aristocrat. Living at the family's summer home, Bella's r...
WISDOM OF PICARD
Book number: 91504 Product format: Hardback Author: EDITED BY CHIP CARTER
Published price: £9.99
Bibliophile price: £4.50
=
Star Trek Captain, explorer, diplomat, archaeologist and vintner Captain Jean-Luc Picard is a true Renaissance man of the 24th century. Discover his sage advice, insights and wisdom from the deck ...
CABARET OF PLANTS: Botany and the Imagination
Book number: 90853 Product format: Hardback Author: RICHARD MABEY
Published price: £10.99
Bibliophile price: £5.00
=
Historians have often interpreted the lack of plant images in palaeolithic cave paintings as meaning our ancestors found vegetation either visually unstimulating or short on meaning, not "alive" as...
VICTORY IN THE KITCHEN: The Life of Churchill's Cook
Book number: 90897 Product format: Hardback Author: ANNIE GRAY
Published price: £16.99
Bibliophile price: £7.00
=
Georgina Landemare was not royal, rich or famous, just someone who worked hard, enjoyed her work and was particularly good at it. How fortuitous that her skills were as a cook and her employer one...
BERLIN AIRLIFT: The World's Largest Ever Supply Operation
Book number: 91229 Product format: Paperback Author: JOHN GREHAN
Published price: £15.99
Bibliophile price: £6.50
=
Following World War II, Stalin's Iron Curtain quickly descended, leaving only West Berlin as a democratic island within Communist eastern Europe. In 1948 Stalin blockaded all the land routes which ...
BAUHAUS
Book number: 91659 Product format: Paperback Author: BORIS FRIEDEWALD
Published price: £10.99
Bibliophile price: £5.50
=
The purpose of this richly illustrated book is to introduce readers to the fascinating world of the Bauhaus - one of the most influential currents of modern architecture and design - and the artist...
OLD POSSUM'S BOOK OF PRACTICAL CATS
Book number: 91666 Product format: Paperback Author: T. S. ELIOT
Published price: £7.99
Bibliophile price: £3.00
=
The movie Cats was based on the musical inspired by these wonderful and much-loved cat poems by T. S. Eliot, and this edition, illustrated with lovely monochrome drawings, introduces the reader onc...
1940: The Second World War In the Air In Photographs
Book number: 91705 Product format: Paperback Author: L. ARCHARD
Published price: £15.99
Bibliophile price: £5.00
=
Nazi Germany conquered Denmark, Norway, Belgium and the Netherlands, Luxemburg and France, all involving heavy use of air power, either transporting troops or closely supporting the armoured forces...
BAUHAUS MASTERWORKS: New World View
Book number: 91708 Product format: Hardback Author: MICHAEL ROBINSON
Published price: $35
Bibliophile price: £12.50
=
The Bauhaus manifesto, written by the movement's founder Walter Gropius in 1919, announced that "the ultimate aim of all visual arts is the complete building". Kandinsky, Klee, Franz Marc and Lasz...
DE NIRO: A Life
Book number: 91710 Product format: Paperback Author: SHAWN LEVY
Published price: $16
Bibliophile price: £4.00
=
Robert De Niro is one of the greatest screen actors of his generation. With performances in Mean Streets, The Godfather Part II, Taxi Driver, The Deer Hunter and Raging Bull he dazzled moviegoers ...
HIT THE TARGET
Book number: 91719 Product format: Hardback Author: BILL YENNE
Published price: £22.99
Bibliophile price: £5.00
=
By the famous author of 'Aces High' the aviation and military historian Bill Yenne comes the stirring true story of the Eighth Air Force in World War Two. Less than a month after the attack on Pea...
HOLLYWOOD DOUBLE AGENT
Book number: 91720 Product format: Hardback Author: JONATHAN GILL
Published price: £19.99
Bibliophile price: £4.00
=
Sub-titled 'The True Tale of Boris Morros, Film Producer Turned Cold War Spy', here the Golden Age of Hollywood is the background to this story of a remarkable career. Boris Morros was a major fig...
JENNYANYDOTS: The Old Gumbie Cat
Book number: 91723 Product format: Hardback Author: T. S. ELIOT AND ARTHUR ROBINS
Published price: £6.99
Bibliophile price: £3.00
=
'I have a Gumbie Cat in mind, her name is Jennyanydots; her coat is of the tabby kind, with tiger stripes and leopard spots.' All day she sits upon the stair or on the steps or on the mat: she sits...
KEEP 'ER LIT: New Selected Lyrics
Book number: 91725 Product format: Hardback Author: VAN MORRISON
Published price: £14.99
Bibliophile price: £6.00
=
Van The Man's storied career, from the seminal Astral Weeks, through recent albums such as Roll with the Punches and The Prophet Speaks, to see his songs presented as prose and poetry once serve to...
PICS OR IT DIDN'T HAPPEN: Images Banned from Instagram
Book number: 91731 Product format: Hardback Author: ARVIDA BYSTROM & MOLLY SODA
Published price: $24.95
Bibliophile price: £7.50
=
Prepare to be shocked! Much nudity and intimate erogenous zones photographed close up, some people strike the weirdest poses whether on the toilet, in soiled underwear, close ups of nipples, a bot...
REGIONAL TRAMWAYS: Scotland
Book number: 91734 Product format: Hardback Author: PETER WALLER
Published price: £25
Bibliophile price: £7.00
=
Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh, Edinburgh Trams, Glasgow and Preservation, this big glamorous volume concentrates on the big city systems that survived WWII. It provides a comprehensive narrative det...
SAY WHAT HAPPENED: A Story of Documentaries
Book number: 91736 Product format: Paperback Author: NICK FRASER
Published price: £20
Bibliophile price: £3.00
=
In a lively book, these are the musings of a man who has thought deeply about his medium of documentaries. Why are they made? Who is in the tribe of documentary filmmakers? Do their films really...
CAMBRIDGE IN THE GREAT WAR
Book number: 91863 Product format: Paperback Author: GLYNIS COOPER
Published price: £9.99
Bibliophile price: £2.50
=
The modern town of Cambridge can be traced back to at least AD875 and in medieval times there were leather and woollen industries. In 1209 Oxford scholars, seeking refuge from hostile townspeople ...
DEATH IN THE AIR
Book number: 91865 Product format: Paperback Author: WESLEY D. ARCHER
Published price: £12.99
Bibliophile price: £4.00
=
Sub-titled 'The War Diary and Photographs of a Flying Corps Pilot', when first published in 1933 the book was considered the ultimate record of aerial combat in the First World War. Its extraordin...
GREAT SPIES OF THE 20TH CENTURY
Book number: 91867 Product format: Hardback Author: PATRICK PESNOT
Published price: £19.99
Bibliophile price: £6.00
=
A mixture of detailed research coupled with the insider revelations of "Mr X", these gripping mini-biographies of 23 agents of various nationalities includes members of the DGSE, KGB, CIA and MI6. ...
MANCHESTER'S MILITARY LEGACY
Book number: 91869 Product format: Paperback Author: STEVEN DICKENS
Published price: £14.99
Bibliophile price: £3.50
=
In Mamucium in 79AD, the establishment of the Roman fort is the first known record of any formal military presence in the area that is now the Castlefield district. The site was previously occupie...
WOMEN AND THE GALLOWS 1797-1837: Unfortunate Wretches
Book number: 91873 Product format: Hardback Author: NAOMI CLIFFORD
Published price: £19.99
Bibliophile price: £7.50
=
By the middle of the 18th century there were 160 capital crimes, many of them reflecting the period's obsession with protecting property. You could be hanged for stealing goods worth five shilling...
YORK'S MILITARY LEGACY
Book number: 91874 Product format: Paperback Author: IAN ROTHERHAM
Published price: £14.99
Bibliophile price: £4.00
=
Fought near to or around York, Towton, Stamford Bridge, Marston Moor and Fulford were some of the most infamous and bloodiest battles on English soil. One of the oldest settlements in western Euro...
BLEED A RIVER DEEP
Book number: 91877 Product format: Paperback Author: BRIAN MCGILLOWAY
Published price: £8.99
Bibliophile price: £2.25
=
A gold mine has been established 20 miles or so east of Lifford, County Donegal in the Irish Republic, just across the River Liffey which divides it from Strabane, County Tyrone in Northern Ireland...
CITY UNDER SIEGE
Book number: 91878 Product format: Paperback Author: MICHAEL RUSSELL
Published price: £8.99
Bibliophile price: £3.50
=
Malta at the heart of the Mediterranean war in 1941 is under siege by German and Italian bombers. Rumours that a British soldier murdered a Maltese teenager cannot go unchallenged without damaging...
GLASS OF BLESSINGS
Book number: 91881 Product format: Paperback Author: BARBARA PYM
Published price: £8.99
Bibliophile price: £4.00
=
Wilmet Forsyth is well dressed, well looked after, suitably husbanded, good looking and fairly young - but very bored. Her sober husband Rodney who works at the Ministry is slightly balder and fat...
JANE AND PRUDENCE
Book number: 91882 Product format: Paperback Author: BARBARA PYM
Published price: £8.99
Bibliophile price: £4.00
=
If Jane Cleveland and Prudence Bates seem an unlikely pair to be walking together at an Oxford reunion, neither of them is aware of it. They couldn't be more different - Jane is a rather incompeten...
NO FOND RETURN OF LOVE
Book number: 91884 Product format: Paperback Author: BARBARA PYM
Published price: £8.99
Bibliophile price: £4.00
=
Dulcie Mainwaring is always helping others, but never looks out for herself, especially in the realm of love. Her friend Viola is besotted by the alluring Dr Aylwin Forbes, so surely it isn't pryi...
5 6 7 8 9 - 10 - 11 12 13 14
Number: 844
Page 10 of 29