E. NESBIT    Book Number: 85844    Product format: Hardback

Seven of Shakespeare's much-loved plays are retold for children aged 6-10 by classic children's author E. Nesbit, while the acclaimed American Shakespearean actor John Lithgow provides a Foreword and the evocative colour illustrations are by Javier Caparo. Romeo and Juliet is a tense tale of impetuous young love that ends in tragedy, and the illustration shows Romeo duelling with his rival Paris. In A Midsummer Night's Dream, the fairy queen Titania is sleeping on a bank of flowers while her jealous husband Oberon pours love-juice into her eyes so that she will fall in love with some grotesque creature, and meanwhile the four quarrelling mortal lovers confront each other angrily. In Twelfth Night, identical twins are reunited, and in a completely different mood Hamlet's father appears to him as a white swirling ghost on the castle battlements. Macbeth is pictured looking gloomy, with an evil-looking Lady Macbeth inciting him to murder, and in The Tempest the magician Prospero conjures up a storm at sea, with his daughter Miranda eagerly looking on. Finally in Much Ado about Nothing we see Beatrice and Benedick at the masked ball surrounded by revellers. The perfect introduction to Shakespeare. 116pp, decorated pages, beautiful colour illustrations, timeline and biography. 9¼" x 11".
Click YouTube icon to see this book come to life on video.
Published price: £12.99
Bibliophile price: £4.00

Additional product information

ISBN 9780062404534
Browse these categories as well: Last Chance to buy!, Early Learning for Children, Children's

Customers who bought this product also bought

Bibliophile price: £2.50
DARE TO CARE: Pet Dragon
Bibliophile price: £3.00
Bibliophile price: £2.00
Bibliophile price: £4.50
I-SPY THE UK: While It Lasts
Bibliophile price: £1.75