MARVEL YEAR BY YEAR: A Visual History Updated and Expanded

MARVEL YEAR BY YEAR: A Visual History Updated and Expanded

EDITED BY CEFN RIDOUT    Book Number: 89832    Product format: Hardback

Super heavyweight and slipcased and with shimmering luminescence like a gateway to another world (to coin a phrase by Dr Strange), here is a century-spanning voyage through eight tumultuous decades of Marvel Comics. From the first appearance of the Apache Kid to the dramatic events of Civil War II, this spectacular book chronicles Marvel's story, month by month, year by year. Mighty Marvel was originally known as Timely Comics when came that fateful day in 1962 when they produced the first issue of The Fantastic Four, immediately followed by The Uncanny X-Men, the Incredible Hulk and The Amazing Spider-Man. Stan Lee in his foreword continues the story: 'Before long we had added such titles as Iron Man, Daredevil, Dr Strange, Sgt. Fury and His Howling Commandos, later followed by Nick Fury, Agent of SHIELD. We also introduced such off-beat characters as The Silver Surfer, Antman, The Inhumans, The Watcher, Galactus, The Punisher - gosh, I could go on and on.' Enjoy all the victories over super-powered bad guys, the titanic threats of Dr Doom, The Green Goblin, The Abomination, Magneto, The Vulture, Bullseye, The Super Skrulls, The Scorpian, Dragon Man who are just the tip of the Marvel mountain of menace. Here are also the stories of the artists like Jack Kirkby, Steve Ditko, Jim Steranko, Todd McFarlane, John Romita Jr., Alex Ross, Adi Granov and many more. The specially commissioned cover artwork is by Dan Panosian featuring many of the characters, right back to the 1940s. Magazine covers, comic book reproductions, the graphic design and layout is second to none on bright glossy white huge pages, many cartoon strips reproduced, some in extraordinary close up detail together with posters and double page spreads. Perhaps best of all are two exclusive prints of original art by Dan Panosian inserted in a wallet inside the back cover with an explanation of the characters from the Atlas era 1950-60 with Patsy Walker and Marvel Boy, the Golden Age 1939-48 with Blonde Phantom and Captain America, Marvel Age 1961-69 with Mary Jane Watson, Kingpin and Loki, and the Modern Age 1970-1989, the Bronze Age of the 90s, 2013-2016 and 21st Century Marvel with the Young Avengers. Updated and expanded 2017 edition 400 huge glossy pages, slipcased. 10" x 12".
Published price: £35
Bibliophile price: £14.00

Additional product information

ISBN 9780241281000
Browse this category: Entertainment/Showbiz

We also recommend

Bibliophile price: £6.50

Customers who bought this product also bought

Bibliophile price: £8.00
Bibliophile price: £2.50
GUERNICA: Painting the End of the World
Bibliophile price: £8.00