INTO THE DARK: A Bomber Command Story of Combat and Survival

INTO THE DARK: A Bomber Command Story of Combat and Survival

JANET HUGHES & REGINALD WILSON    Book Number: 86073    Product format: Hardback

On 20th January 1944 Bomber Command Navigator Reginald Wilson's Halifax, LW337, comes into the sights of an ace Luftwaffe night fighter pilot and is blown from the darkness above the German capital Berlin. Reg, yet to celebrate his 21st birthday, plunges into the dark and parachutes to safety, becoming a POW. The experience of being shot down however will haunt him for the rest of his life. In July 2005 Reg embarks on a seemingly impossible quest to discover the fate of his aircraft. Undeterred by the scepticism of family, friends and military archivists, he uses the Internet and his natural aptitude for problem solving to piece together exactly what happened to the Halifax which had crashed 61 years previously. His persistence leads to the most remarkable discovery which changes his life. Without 21st century technology and the cooperation of a number of British and German highly motivated individuals, the real truth about the last flight of LW337 has been discovered. A story of courage and steely determination. 177pp, many family photos, sketches from Reg's log book of Oflag VIIB, his postcard telling his parents he was a POW, telegrams and letters and archive photos. Gripping on time in Stalag IVB, returning to civvy street and the catharsis.
Published price: £19.95
Bibliophile price: £7.00

Additional product information

ISBN 9780992620769
Browse these categories as well: War Memoirs, War & Militaria

Customers who bought this product also bought

Bibliophile price: £4.00
Bibliophile price: £1.00
SHORES OF KNOWLEDGE: New World Discoveries
Bibliophile price: £1.75
GOVERNESS: Issue XIII The Journal
Bibliophile price: £3.00

Customer ratings for INTO THE DARK: A Bomber Command Story of Combat and Survival

Number of ratings: 1
Average rating: 5
Most informative, excellent read
from Anonymous on 09/11/2019
The book is in three parts, all give a total story. Aircrew training and operations, prisoner of war camps and the search for the dead aircrew to give a proper burial.